WVEC Action Alert

URGENT!!! Contact Your Legislators and Support Community Solar!!

West Virginia Environmental Council
West Virginia Environmental Council
Action Alert
URGENT!!! Contact Your Legislators and Support Community Solar!!
Feb 20, 2023 View / Comment Online

 Donate 

 

Take action TODAY and support community solar in West Virginia! 

Introduced in the Senate last week, SB 627 creates a community solar program where individuals, businesses, and organizations can purchase or subscribe to a “share” in a locally-sited solar panel array and use credits against their electric utility costs. This bill can lower energy costs, create jobs, and promote energy freedom in our state. 

Community solar offers the benefit of solar to those who can’t, or prefer not to, install solar panels on their own homes. Currently, 22 states have enabled community solar programs. It’s time for West Virginia to expand access to solar.

We urge you to take action TODAY and let West Virginia lawmakers know we must expand affordable energy options by enabling community solar programs. Please contact the Senate Government Organization Committee TODAY and tell them to support and co-sponsor community solar in West Virginia. The committee meets tomorrow, so urgent action is needed now! 

Call to Action: Email Senators on the Senate Government Organization Committee

Email: jason.barrett@wvsenate.gov, bill.hamilton@wvsenate.gov, mark.hunt@wvsenate.gov, glenn.jeffries@wvsenate.gov, mike.maroney@wvsenate.gov, rupie.phillips@wvsenate.gov, ben.queen@wvsenate.gov, randy.smith@wvsenate.gov, mike.stuart@wvsenate.gov, chandler.swope@wvsenate.gov, ryan.weld@wvsenate.gov, mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov, jack.woodrum@wvsenate.gov

Subject: Please Support and Co-Sponsor Community Solar Today!

Dear Members of the Senate Government Organization Committee,

Please support and co-sponsor community solar programs in West Virginia! A bill in your Committee, SB 627, would give more families access to affordable energy by establishing community solar programs. 

Community solar offers the benefit of solar to those who can’t, or prefer not to, install solar panels on their homes. These projects enable individuals, businesses, or organizations to purchase or subscribe to a “share” in a community solar project. Individuals can receive a credit on their monthly electricity bill by purchasing a share.

Currently, 22 states have enabled community solar programs. It’s time for West Virginia to expand access to solar.

Community solar could save subscribers millions of dollars annually and create jobs in the state. A competitive and well-structured program would increase energy freedom and boost our state’s economy.

Thank you,


Calls are most effective! Please call these committee members and let them know you want energy freedom.

Senator Jack Woodrum (Chair): (304) 357-7849
Senator Jason Barrett (Vice Chair): (304) 357-7933
Senator Bill Hamilton: (304) 357-7906
Senator Mark Hunt: (304) 357-7841
Senator Glen Jeffries: (304) 357-7866
Senator Mike Maroney: (304) 357-7902
Senator Rupie Phillips: (304) 357-7857
Senator Ben Queen: (304) 357-7904
Senator Randy Smith: (304) 357-7995
Senator Mike Stuart: (304) 357-7939
Senator Chandler Swope: (304) 357-7843
Senator Ryan Weld: (304) 357-7984
Senator Mike Woelfel: (304) 357-7956

Thank you!
 

Feb 24 2023  Newsletter article
2023 Legislative Priorities
Jan 27 2023  Newsletter article
Weekly Round-Up
Jan 27 2023  Legislative Updates
GREEN, Volume 33 Issue 3
Jan 13 2023  Newsletter article
Pixie dust or renewable must? The debate on community solar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend
Skip to toolbar