WVEC Action Alert

Call lawmakers today to ask them to protect our health!

West Virginia Environmental Council
West Virginia Environmental Council
Action Alert
 
Jan 21, 2019 View / Comment Online

 Donate 

 

We continue to work hard to ensure that the DEP rule on water quality standards is as protective of human health as possible. If you’ll recall from last week’s GREEN, the rules bill (SB 167) had been pulled from the agenda by Senate Energy, Industry, and Mining Chairman Randy Smith so that the WV Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP) would be able to conduct its first public listening session to hear any of any new scientific studies that would affect its decision on whether to adopt a  number of EPA recommendations on human health criteria.

That meeting was well attended, but yielded none of the “new studies” that WVMA promised the agency. In fact, the only thing new was offered by WVU School of Public Health professor, Dr. Mike McCawley, who said in a statement to DEP:

“The only publicly defensible stance is to lower levels of carcinogens if changes are made. Not lowering them might be acceptable if there is no current recommendation for a lower standard, but raising them can never be acceptable. EPA is required to evaluate exposure in terms of, at least, maintaining if not lowering the risk it poses. If the EPA notes that current science does not support a lower exposure level this does not mean that attainable.EPA is required to evaluate exposure in terms of, at least, maintaining if not lowering the risk it poses. If the EPA notes that current science does not support a   lower exposure level this does not mean that attainable lower levels should be abandoned because even minor exposures still can cause cancer.”

Please call the members of the Senate Energy, Industry and Mining committee today to say, “to adopt the EPA-recommended human health criteria updates that strengthen our water protections!”

Randy Smith randy.smith@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7995
Dave Sypolt dave.sypolt@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7914
Donna J. Boley donna.boley@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7905
Charles H. Clements charles.clements@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7827
Sue Cline sue.cline@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7807
Douglas E. Facemire douglas.facemire@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7845
William Ihlenfeld william.ihlenfeld@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7918
Richard Lindsay richard.lindsay@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7841
Glenn Jeffries glenn.jeffries@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7866
Kenny Mann kenny.mann@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7849
Chandler Swope chandler.swope@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7843
Dave Sypolt dave.sypolt@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7914
Mike Woelfel mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7956
Bill Hamilton bill.hamilton@wvsenate.gov (304) 357‐7906

Oct 5 2020  Newsletter article
A new book on the 2014 West Virginia drinking water crisis
Oct 5 2020  Newsletter article
DEP Stormwater General Permits – Back Door Back Sliding
Oct 5 2020  Newsletters
GREEN, Volume 30 Issue 15
Sep 22 2020  Action Alerts
Urgent Action for Water Quality Standards – Act by 9/23

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend